powered by SignMyGuestbook.com
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com!

Rescue Chickens

The Kindness of Strangers

Does my arse look fat in this soul?

The demon of paranoia re-visits old Sket

On The Road......

contact me older entries newest entry

2004-04-09 - 6:48 p.m.

So today it was a beautiful day and Phoe figured we should do something nice. I quickly forgot about my dissertation and agreed.

First problem: I couldn't find my bag. I have loads of bags but I tend not to really use them often which means that being the lard-head I am, I often wander off and forget them. We searched the usual places and then realised that I must have left it at the pub (yesterday lunch time). After a call it turned out it was there.

We drove around and the guy I speak to there said that he'd found it, been thru it to see if there was a phone number (yeah, just some guys) and realised it was mine. Didn't bother to let me know tho! I cringed at the thought of some bloke I vaguely know going thru my bag and had to tip it out to see what his perception of me must be:

A compass, a list of runes and their meanings, a stone that's got markings on making it look like a happy face, information on starting a worm farm (jeez), loads of heavy headache pills, an abundance of packets of salt and pepper, a note from my mom that had accompanied some money she'd sent me due to my frequent bouts of financial embarassment, some guys phone number (can't remember him), some sticks and broken pens and other various bits of crap. It could have been worse - much worse. It still made me wonder what he thinks tho.

Next onto major event of the day: We took the dogs up to an area called Culver Down which is really lovely but ends in cliffs. We were walking-there were no notices that the area was dangerous-and suddenly both of our dogs disappeared over the edge of the cliff.

I felt sick as we edged slowly to the point of their disappearance. It was a sheer drop! Perhaps 80-100 feet down to scree and the sea. Phoe started to call the dogs and we could see them as tiny dots at the bottom. They seemed fine (god only knows how) but they couldn't get back up the cliff. There were plants and it was easy to get so far up but then the last 20 feet or so was practically straight. The smart dog eventually managed to get back up. It took him all of his might and his claws were rough and a bit broken from climbing. The stupid dog who is much bigger and heavier hadn't got a clue and was wandering around, confused and just kept running back into the sea.

We eventually, after calling and calling him decided to let the smart dog go back down to try and show the stupid one the way up. Actually seeing him go over the edge was so bloody scary, he just let gravity take him and he knew no fear. He got down to the stupid dog and he knew what his mission was (he's so smart) but still the stupid dog couldn't pull himself up the last bit. I tried to see if there was another way to get to him but it probably would have taken a boat. The stupid dog (Roswell) just lay down exhausted and confused.

I don't know what actually happened next, he just kind of stood up and used his walnut of a brain and slowly made his way up. He found a bit of stability by going thru a bramble bush which must have hurt him cause it clung to his fur for a while making him cry. He pulled his way thru and just followed our voices. When he got within reach I leant down ready to pull him up.

We got him back, and whoever it was taking care of us today I thank them. He must have had some sort of help 'cause it just isn't like him to calm down and work things out.

Sigh.......my Good Friday!

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!