powered by SignMyGuestbook.com
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com!

Rescue Chickens

The Kindness of Strangers

Does my arse look fat in this soul?

The demon of paranoia re-visits old Sket

On The Road......

contact me older entries newest entry

2004-09-26 - 12:40 p.m.

I've started to come down from the shock of actually passing that 5 hour debacle I'd put myself thru a week ago. I've actually looked at the feedback report they provided for me and I am amazed at some of the grades I was given; good and bad.

The very last thing I'd had to do was a role play exercise with a woman who supposedly had a problem with people who were discriminating against her due to her sex. I KNOW that I did extra shit at this scenario as I had just babbled away at top speed about nothing useful and had actually lost my thread and had sat there for what seemed like ages, contorting my face in order to wrestle the word from my seized up brain, before giving up and using half a dozen stupid words instead. I didn't solve the problem, I couldn't have made the character feel any better and the woman who had given me a lift back to the train station had told me what she had said ('cause I was obsessing) which was really good. I kicked myself as those were the kind of things that I had wanted to say but didn't.

You know what grades I got for that scenario?
i) Respect for Diversity - B
ii) Effective Communication - B (were they in the same room as me?)
iii) Problem Solving - B (huh? I didn't SOLVE the bloody problem)
iv) Teamworking - B (no, I don't know where they got that from either)
v) Resilience - A (that must have been a pity score for the sheer resilience I showed in carrying on talking at 50mph whilst having no clue of what I was on about)
vi) Oral Communication - A (BLOODY A - How the heck did I get a bloody A for that? Perhaps I had an out of body experience throughout this scenario 'cause the shit I was witnessing wasn't worth a bloody D let alone an A! They must get some real dorks through the door if my effort was worth an A, or perhaps the marker felt sorry for me. Who knows?)

Other interesting info that was gleened from the report is that I'd been pitted against 7274 others and that out of them, 72.19% of them scored lower than me in the field of Personal Responsibility and 67.89% of them scored lower than me for Resilience. Amazing really. Oh yeah, I'd mentioned previously that I couldn't believe that my brain had allowed me to use the story of the kid covered in shit and the subsequent finding of the kid/cleaning up of the stench-filled indoor leisure facility that he'd put skids all over example as my Team Working scenario. They gave me a B for that story :)

All that is very well but I've got the job related fitness test in just over 2 weeks and for 1 of those weeks I'll be in Birmingham to see my Mom and old pals for my birthday. The cold reality is settling over me now. I genuinely haven't got a cat in hell's chance at the moment. Nigel made me do the shuttle run and I came up 5 lengths worse than my best which was a pitiful best anyway. I had a very depressing conversation with him last night where he promised that he was going to give me 'A Beasting' every night he can until the 12th.

....A beasting huh? Sounds a bit like a Roasting but of course, there won't be any footballers involved and I won't be able to sell my story to a tabloid. I've been promised a training session tonight which should ensure that I don't walk on Monday. I question these tactics but know that I've got to do something drastic if I want half a chance of getting through the next stage.

Pray for me.

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!