powered by SignMyGuestbook.com
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com!

Rescue Chickens

The Kindness of Strangers

Does my arse look fat in this soul?

The demon of paranoia re-visits old Sket

On The Road......

contact me older entries newest entry

2004-08-19 - 12:31 a.m.

The good news is that I found a web site for the museum of witchcraft, Boscastle and they say that although the place has been effectively wrecked, they promise that they will re-open and survive!

Wa-hoo!

The other good news is that Phoe's Dad (I call him Wazza) came out of hospital today after his knee replacement op. I thought that it would be touch and go as to whether he'd actually be out today as yesterday I tried to help him onto a weird stool thing in his room (it had a strange kind of deckchair mechanism to raise or lower it) which promptly collapsed throwing him down and making him roll across the carpet a bit. His eyes went REALLY wide (which, on reflection was quite funny but I won't laugh, that would be wrong).

......(picture Sket NOT laughing)

Fortunately we both picked him up and he was fine. He reckoned that when the side collapsed it had just rolled him and didn't hurt his knee. It also turns out that the stool wasn't a stool at all but an adjustable thing for this feet. Oops!

Another bit of good news is that I actually posted an application form! I bothered to write creatively about how feckin' wonderful I am and other assorted bull-shit and posted it. The only thing is that it says that the application forms must be received by the 19th of August (which is tomorrow). I've been quibbling with this wording in my head all day. It doesn't actually say before the 19th, but does by actually mean the same thing? I kinda suspect it does which means that receiving the application form on the actual 19th is too late. Damn me and my inability to do things quickly! It doesn't say that late applications will not be considered which one of the other jobs I'd sent for did. I might be lucky, hell, it's for Portsmouth City Council and councils are renowned for being shit so perhaps it'll be ok.

I must not obsess. This is another of my personality faults by the way.

Some positive, rather than good, news is that I registered with WP Recruitment today and they were quite positive. I've agreed to undertake any temporary work they can find me and they have agreed to try and find me some permanent work too. That'll be great as I'll be able to get my old VW Beetle back on the road (the MOT ran out and I'm too scared to find out how much it's going to fail on). I had to call Phoe out to pick me up after my interview with WP and the bloody heavens opened all over me. There was nowhere to shelter where I'd agreed to meet her and by the time she'd arrived my top had turned transparent!

Still didn't pull anyone.

Not that there was anyone around to pull so I shouldn't moan.

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!