powered by SignMyGuestbook.com
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com!

Rescue Chickens

The Kindness of Strangers

Does my arse look fat in this soul?

The demon of paranoia re-visits old Sket

On The Road......

contact me older entries newest entry

2004-08-18 - 12:51 a.m.

.......and so ends the first day of my anti-procratination. You know I mentioned the 3 application forms. I filled out the first one and then read the accompanying letter in order to find out where I needed to send it and it stated that I should return it to them within 5 days of receipt.

.....I've had it for 18 days

doh!

Not to be deterred I used the information on that application form to fill out the next. Then I got fed up. I wish they wouldn't ask for little stories about what skills you've learned and shit. They can ask all of that at interview. Everything just seems to be geared towards telling me to fuck off, and the second application needs to be in the post tomorrow if it has any chance of getting to it's Portsmouth destination by Thursday. I've done it all apart from the shit life story. I still haven't looked at the 3rd application, I thought I'd ease myself out of procrastination, rather like a smoker might ease themselves out of their habit. I'm down to just 4 hours of thinking about doing stuff a day now and I feel good about it.

Other than that I have to mention how upset I am at the news that my favourite place, Boscastle in Cornwall has been devastated by a freak flash flood that has practically destroyed the village completely. Phoe and I were there at the start of the year and also last September when we rented a small cottage on the edge of the Valency river. It was the combined force of this and 2 other rivers swollen by high tide and a months worth of concentrated rain fall which lead to the wall of water smashing through the ancient fishing village. At least 6 buildings have collapsed, 60 cars have been washed into the Atlantic and the whole area is covered in mud and trees.

There is another reason why I am particularly upset to hear that Boscastle had been practically destroyed and that is because it is the home of the museum of witchcraft. Being a bit of a pagan hippy type I chose our trip to Boscastle purposely so that I could visit and visit I did. There are so many rare and precious artifacts and items donated by witch families in order to illustrate their practices and to show aspects of witchcraft that the public might not realise whilst pointing out that the religion has NOTHING to do with devil worship. Phoe and I watched the news footage praying that the museum would survive, especially as the little building opposite it had collapsed. We finally saw the museum and realised that although the building might survive, the black water flowing past it's roof (carrying cars and modern camper vans) meant that all of the rare artifacts would have been ruined. Phoe had kept saying that they might have had time to move things up stairs. Unfortunately we realise that this wouldn't have helped and the speed of the disaster took everyone by surprise anyway. The good news is that it would seem that no one has lost their life.

Small blessings

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!