powered by SignMyGuestbook.com
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com!

Rescue Chickens

The Kindness of Strangers

Does my arse look fat in this soul?

The demon of paranoia re-visits old Sket

On The Road......

contact me older entries newest entry

2004-04-18 - 11:25 p.m.

.....I've already completed my entry for today but if you've read it you will know that I said that the fates were jerkin' with me.

Boy did they jerk me BIG TIME.

I have a terrible habit of shuffling about on the chair and accidently kicking the 'off' button on the modem.

Whilst in full flow (which doesn't happen very often) I kicked the button and everything went black. Stunned I wondered at what point I had saved my work to the hard drive. I knew that I'd saved yesterdays stuff to disk but wasn't sure when I last hit the save icon.

I tried to restart the programme. It wouldn't let me. I played with the whole system and tried re-booting the thing 3 times to no avail. Non of the icons on my desk top worked and the system was hard pressed to even switch off. Phoe tried hers - FINE, not a problem at all. It was just mine that was screwed. We tried and tried to get it to work. I was sure I'd done about 500 words since I last saved it to disk and I'll admit, I did the girlie thing and cried a bit

(not a lot said the tough Brummie girl trying to keep a stiff upper lip)

.......yeah, it was a bit. Actual silent rolling of tears. Damn.

I downloaded everything from my disk onto Phoe's desk top and checked out how much I'd saved. About 1,000 words and I'd written some bloody good stuff too. Broken and dejected I let Phoe try re-booting again:

Nothing

She suggested we switch everything off at the wall.

It WORKED!

Praise be and dance a jig to all that's merciful. I am now at 1,300 or so words.

She has actually physically tied my feet to the chair. I am losing circulation in my right foot but I couldn't give a shiny shite. I will finish this chapter before I go to bed!

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!