powered by SignMyGuestbook.com
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com!

Rescue Chickens

The Kindness of Strangers

Does my arse look fat in this soul?

The demon of paranoia re-visits old Sket

On The Road......

contact me older entries newest entry

2004-04-18 - 7:13 p.m.

Did you make it? I hear you all cry. Did you make your 500 words?

Did I 'eck. I got to 332 and got pissed off. I intended to spend the next day getting to 1000 but the fates decided to jerk with me for leaving things to the last minute (again).

As I worked (slowly) I detected a thing on the computer saying that it had gone on-line to download some system updates. Fine, cool. Perhaps some more protection against the bastards who would see my system busted and kicked into the street. After about an hour I got a message stating that the updates were ready and that I should save everything I'd done and re-start my pc.

I did and then called it all back up again to continue with my work.

Then the whole system crashed. It did offer me the opportunity to save the stuff I'd done since the last save but when I tried it told me that I couldn't and did I want to re-try?

"Of course I want to re-try you fucking thing" (I shouted rather 'fruitily') but alas, it would not let me save it. Apparently it had changed to a 'view only' document and I could piss off if I wanted to change anything. Images of my entire dissertation being corrupted whizzed thru my brain. I had stuff on disc but that meant hassle trying to find another pc to work on etc etc and I thought I might have to feign my own death and just walk away from this life.

Fortunately I just cut and paste the whole thing into a brand new document. Such dramatics with a simple solution. I can see that this whole thing is getting beyond a joke now. If ever I say on this diary that I might take a Masters degree send me emails and abuse reminding me of this and warning of the consequences.

On a lighter note, I heard from someone else who has been reading my diary - "hi Deluk"! They gave me a good tip about my headaches and liked the photo of the hat of humiliation I made for my dog Mulder (the smart one who loves being dressed up)

http://www.fotolog.net/sketty/?pid=7696522

I have currently written about 1000 words of my last chapter but I need to finish it today in order to email it to Barry my dissertation supervisor for tomorrow. I am so scared I can't concentrate on what I am writing.

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!